Love, love, love…

Here’s a trivia: LOVE has no equivalent in Maguindanaon dialect. Here are cheesy lines and terms of endearment in Maguindanaon:

GALINYAN KO SEKA – I like you

MAMOT KO – My sweet-smelling [wife/daughter]

PAPEDTAYAN KO SEKA – I adore you

TAYAN – may be used to refer to a “sweetheart” or equivalent to “honey”

TAYAN KO – My sweetheart or My honey

PASYUM AKO PA – [Please] let me kiss you

SYUM – kiss

KERAT – wink the eye or eye-wink

KAKEP – hug

PAKAKEP AKO PA – [Please] let me hug you

4 thoughts on “Love, love, love…”

    1. No. There are several meanings of Limu.

      – Kindness – Malimu – kind/gracious/generous
      – Mercy – Malimu – merciful
      – Consideration – Malimu – considerate

      So “Ipegkalimu ko seka” could also mean “I love you” but with no romantic association.

      1. Ipegkalimu ko seka – I am merciful to you
        Ipegkalimu ko seka – I am kind to you

Leave a comment